How to Join MSSA

The Mount Sinai Sailing Association is for people interested in sailing, regardless of boat ownership or boat location. Yearly activities include raft-ups, beach parties, cruises, and races during the sailing season. There are also monthly meetings and social activities in the off season. If you are just curious and would like to participate in one of the many races, boat captains are always looking for crew. Don't be concerned about your experience - just contact us!

Joining Is Easy!

  1. Complete the New Member Application
  2. Membership is $100, or $130 if you'd like to include an MSSA Burgee for your boat to fly proudly.
  3. Mail your form and your check payable to MSSA to: 
                  Mount Sinai Sailing Association, PO Box 291, Mount Sinai, NY 11766.
  4. Upon approval of the executive committee, you are a member. Annual renewal is $100.
MSSA Burgee
MSSA Burgee

What You Get!

  • 7 monthly meetings (October - May) w/ informative guest speakers, club and harbor business.
  • 2 MSSA club stickers for your land yachts.
  • The annual MSSA Yearbook with all membership and yacht information.
  • The right to use MSSA club moorings in both Port Jefferson and Mt Sinai Harbors.
  • A friendly community of sailors who love to race, cruise, socialize, and simply mess around in boats!

As an MSSA Member, You Can:

  • Participate in up to 50 yacht races throughout the year with trophies awarded in November.
  • Participate in all club cruises from New York Harbor to Martha's Vineyard.
  • Party with the club from the Lobster Bake to the End-of-Season Dinner Dance.

MSSA Burgee Display Etiquette

Traditionally, the yacht club burgee is flown from the masthead on a short pole called a pig stick; however, because of lights and other equipment at the masthead of a modern yacht, the club burgee is usually flown from the starboard flag halyard as shown in this drawing.

MSSA Burgee Etiquette 

Illustration by Mark Smith From "The Annapolis Book Of Seamanship" by John Rousmanniere, Simon & Schuster 1999.
Modified by ETM 2005.